Product detail

Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

Author: Gretchen Rubin
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

"This book made me happy in the first five pages." --AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible

Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is "a cross between the Dalai Lama's The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love." (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Reviews

"An enlightening, laugh-aloud read... Filled with open, honest glimpses into [Rubin's] real life, woven together with constant doses of humor." -- Terry Hong, Christian Science Monitor "For those who generally loathe the self-help genre, Rubin's book is a breath of peppermint-scented air. Well-researched and sharply written... Rubin takes an orderly, methodical approach to forging her own path to a happier state of mind." -- Kim Crow, Cleveland Plain Dealer "Practical and never preachy ... the rare self-help tome that doesn't feel shameful to read." -- Daily Beast "Packed with fascinating facts about the science of happiness and rich examples of how she improves her life through changes small and big The Happiness Project made me happier by just reading it." -- Amy Scribner, Bookpage

Author description

Gretchen Rubin is the author of several books, including the bestselling Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill. She was clerking for Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor when she realized that she really wanted to be a writer. She lives in New York City with her husband and two young daughters.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780062414854
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • : December 2015
  • : 203mm X 135mm X 20mm
  • : United States
  • : January 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : (Revised Edition)
  • : illustrations
  • : (Revised Edition)
  • : illustrations
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 336
  • : 336
  • : bl2015055536
  • : Gretchen Rubin
  • : bl2015055536
  • : Gretchen Rubin
  • : General Adult
  • : General Adult
  • : 158
  • : 158
  • : English
  • : English